Peppermint Bay

It’s about time I posted about Peppermint Bay. Years and years ago before we lived here and we were visiting my brother, I remember driving past this place and seeing the setting on the waterfront, and insisting we stop to check it out. Since then, we stopped for lunch every time we visited Tas, and now upon moving here are lucky enough to have it as our local cafe (not on purpose, just a very nice coincidence!).

There’s endless amazing food in Tasmania, especially down south where we live, but Peppermint Bay is one of those places you just keep going back to. The food is delicious, the coffee is among my favourite anywhere, the staff are all amazingly friendly, and the views… we can sit there for hours just staring across the D’entrecasteaux Channel at the yachts floating past (and Peppermint Bay’s own catamaran bringing tourists from Hobart).

I’m a sucker for fish and chips, and here it’s among the best of any I’ve had (though we’re upset it’s no longer served with mushy peas!). My wife generally goes for oysters or mussels, and there’s some really good lighter snacks when we’re not that hungry.

It’s definitely another one of those proud “tourists flock from ages away to visit something that to us is down the road” type moments.

Peppermint Bay on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment